Poultry farm

4 Asian Countries Limit U.S. Poultry Imports Because of Bird Flu

In News by Krista Garver0 Comments

South Korea, Japan, Taiwan, and Hong Kong have all taken steps to limit imports of U.S. poultry after the discovery of avian flu on a Tennessee chicken farm, according to a Reuters report.

The countries are each taking a different approach. South Korea has banned U.S. poultry and egg imports entirely, Japan and Taiwan have blocked imports from Tennessee, and Hong Kong has banned imports from the particular county.

The National Chicken Council confirmed that the virus, which was found on March 5, was only detected on a single farm and that plans are underway to test all flocks within a six-mile radius.

Meanwhile, the Animal and Plant Health Administration and the USDA are working with other countries to address the incident and prevent further trade restrictions.

RELATED  Millennials Prioritize Food Health, Sustainability

Leave a Comment